Aspiration Banking Review (2020) — Are Recent Changes for the Better?

There was once a time when I thought perhaps I had too many bank accounts. Yet, since then, I’ve only found more attractive accounts to open. One of the additions I made to my roster back in 2018 was Aspiration.

Image for post
Image for post

Not long after I opened an account, several things started to change with my account — first for better and then, later… not so much. Most recently, in March and April of 2020, Aspiration made two more rounds of adjustments that I think further degraded their banking product. At the same time, the company does maintain a unique mission and approach.

With that preview out of the way, let’s take a closer look at what Aspiration still has to offer customers and what makes/made them stand out in the increasingly crowded field of online banking services.

Editor’s note: this article was updated in April 2020 with the latest APY information and other changes.

Image for post
Image for post

What is Aspiration?

Aspiration is an online banking services company with some high, well, aspirations. With taglines such as “Do Well. Do Good.” and “Save Money, Save the Planet,” the company puts as much of an emphasis on charity and ecological impact as it does on personal finance health. In fact humanitarian and Oscar-winning actor Leonardo DiCaprio is among Aspiration’s investors.

There are many areas where Aspiration’s Earth-saving endeavors shine through, such as their Redwood Fund and Redwood IRA products that promote sustainable investing. Additionally the bank donates to various causes and makes it easy for its customers to do the same. However, for the rest of this review, we’ll be looking specifically at Aspiration’s banking features and how they compare to other offerings.

A brief, oversimplified history of Aspiration and its many changes

First, early last year, Aspiration announced it was changing a few things about their accounts. For one, instead of a single account they dubbed “Aspiration Summit,” the bank created Aspiration Spend and Aspiration Save accounts. The biggest positive to this change was that the bank doubled its APY from 1% to 2%. However, to earn this interest, funds would first need to be placed into the Save account. Additionally customers would need to deposit at least $1 a month into any of their Aspiration accounts (or have a balance of at least $10,000 or higher for a minimum of one day per month) in order to earn to that 2% APY. Failing to do so will, sadly, result in a 0% interest rate for the month.

Unfortunately, this structure changed again in August 2019. Following a quarter-point Federal Reserve’s rate cut, Aspiration announced that it would still offer 2% APY… but only to customers who deposited at least $1,000 a month — a far higher threshold than the previous $1. Alternatively, if you have a balance of over $10,000 for at least one day during a given month, you’ll earn 1.5% APY. Again, failing to meet either of these requirements will result in 0% APY for the month.

Subsequent changes and restrictions arrived in September 2019 and now in March 2020 that further complicate the Aspiration product and make it more difficult to earn interest. Finally, with the introduction of Aspiration Plus, that tier of service became the only way for Aspiration customers to earn any interest on their funds.

We’ll talk more about my feelings on these changes a bit later.

What Aspiration Currently Offers

Since Aspiration’s accounts have changed frequently, here’s a quick rundown of what basic banking features are currently offered as of April 2020:

  • 0% APY on savings for customers without Aspiration Plus

What’s Good About Aspiration

FDIC-insured

Before we go any further, rest assured that deposits to Aspiration are FDIC insured just like any other bank. That said, Aspiration is actually not a bank themselves and instead partners with banks to offer this insurance. In fact they actually sweep funds to several different banks, allowing for insurance on up to $2 million per depositor instead of the regular $250,000.

“Pay What is Fair”

Aspiration doesn’t charge many of the fees that traditional banks do. There’s no minimum balance fee, overdraft fees, maintenance fees, etc. Instead the bank asks its customers to sustain them by paying a monthly fee of their choosing — even if that amount is $0. Overall this is a good system that has the potential to save you money versus many brick-and-mortar banks.

Cashback on debit card purchases

Incidentally this is a feature of Aspiration I have yet to use but is definitely worth discussing. Along with the other recent changes to Aspiration accounts, debit card purchases now yield cardholders cashback. However, this particular feature has also continued to evolve.

The bank has developed its Aspiration Impact Measurement (AIM) that evaluates “how a business treats People (employees, customers and community) and the Planet (environment).” When the cashback debit feature was first announced, if you used your debit card to make a purchase at an establishment with a high AIM score, you’d earn 1% cashback. Meanwhile if the business has a lower AIM score or has yet to be evaluated by Aspiration, you’d earn 0.5% cashback on your purchase. Even back then it was a bit unclear what constitutes a high or a low score but, in any case, that system has changed.

Now, patronizing “businesses with the highest AIM scores” will earn you 0.5%. This time, however, they provide a list of stores eligible for this higher cashback rate (accurate as of March 8, 2020):

  • Adobe Systems

The good news is that, on top of that, Aspiration is also offering up to 5% cashback when you use your debit card to make purchases from members of the Conscience Coalition. Plus, those with Aspiration Plus can earn 10% cash back from these companies. Here’s a look at those participants (accurate as of March 8th, 2020):

  • 5% cashback:

Even as someone who doesn’t plan on really using this feature, the initial change was pretty disappointing. While I was thankful to have a bit more clarity on what qualifies for which tier — and there are least a few places on the list where I shop with some regularity — cutting the cashback rates so dramatically (now down to 0.05% for most) makes this feature even less viable. However the addition of the Conscience Coalition bonuses is admittedly pretty cool even if the list is fairly short.

Ultimately if simple, straight-forward cashback checking is what you’re after, Discover offers 1% back on up to $3,000 in debit card purchases per month. Plus, if you trust yourself with a credit card, there are plenty of options that will likely earn you than you’ll get on most Aspiration debit card purchases, unless you frequent the named companies often enough.

Plant Your Change

While we’re on the topic of debit cards, one newer feature of Aspiration is called Plant Your Change. When you opt into this, your Aspiration debit card purchases will be rounded up to the nearest dollar, with the spare change going towards planting trees. Aspiration says that they guarantee one tree will be planted for each purchase rounded up.

I know I said I’d only be looking at Aspiration’s actual banking features in this review. This one is borderline; however, since it is unique and involves your money, I figured it was worth highlighting.

High-ish APYs (that you now have to pay for)

As mentioned earlier, Aspiration previously offered up 1% APY on savings but has continually made earning that amount harder and harder since I initially signed up. The good news is that technically you can now get up to 1.0% APY instead… but, as you’ll see in the “Downsides of Aspiration” section, it’ll cost you.

Perhaps Aspiration’s APY be reinstated for its normal tier customers if the Fed were to reverse its emergency rate cut, but there’s no guarantee and I certainly wouldn’t count on it.

Image for post
Image for post

Free ATM access

Last but not least, Aspiration used to boast that it would allow its customers to use any ATM in the world for free. No, this wasn’t the result of some massive partnerships that span the globe. Instead it just meant that the company would reimburse any fees you may incur for using an ATM domestically or abroad. Sadly, this went out the window in April 2020 — with one exception for Aspiration Plus users.

Now, Aspiration is a member of the Allpoint ATM network, which gives customers access to more than 55,000 ATMs across the nation. While that’s not a bad thing on its own, the discontinuation of reimbursed fees from any ATM is a huge blow. That said, those who pay for Aspiration Plus can still get one free out-of-network ATM reimbursement per month.

Considering that the “any ATM in the world” feature was really one of the main reasons I signed up for Aspiration in the first place, no longer have this perk is enough for me to drop this point into the “downsides” section. But, for most users, I suspect that the Allpoint network will still more than suffice, so I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt.

The Downsides of Aspiration

About that monthly fee

In the “What’s Good About Aspiration” section, I explained the institution’s Pay What is Fair fee policy. While it’s true that you can elect to set this fee to $0, I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Heck, I felt bad enough reducing their initial $5 a month fee recommendation to the $1 I landed on. But here’s the thing: there are other online banks that offer near what Aspiration does that don’t charge any fees and don’t even ask for voluntary payment. I suspect I’m not the only one paying a higher fee to Aspiration than they otherwise would just because of guilt, making this a slight negative to the service. Then again, Aspiration does give 10% of these fees to charity, so now I’m back to feeling bad that I even wrote this!

P.S. — whether you’re feeling more generous or decide it’s time to lower your fee, you can always do so by going into Settings > Fee Settings and adjusting from there.

Aspiration Plus

While we’re on the subject of fees, I should finally explain what Aspiration Plus is. Introduced in April 2020, this new tier of service comes at a cost of $3.99 per month or $44.99 if paid for a year upfront and includes some added benefits for users. For one, as I’ve noted, it’s now the sole way to earn any interest on your money and also includes one out-of-network ATM fee reimbursement per month. Other benefits include an upgrade debit card made from recycled ocean plastics and up to 10% back on purchases from Conscience Coalition brands.

Aspiration Plus does also include their Planet Protection feature, meant to provide carbon offsets for your gasoline consumption. Considering that this option previous came at a cost of $5.99 or $59.99 a year, I do have to give Aspiration some credit for including it in this lower-cost package — that is, assuming that the product hasn’t changed.

Complicated (and kind of ridiculous) APY structure

While the APY potential of Aspiration is a good thing, what you need to do to earn it is now a major negative. In fact, with each subsequent adjustment that Aspiration has made, they’ve only made it more difficult to earn any interest. What’s more, while most of these requirements were at least understandable — being based on the deposits that customers made — the latest iteration is pretty absurd to me.

Currently, only those who join Aspiration Plus will be eligible for any interest at all. Then, by default, these customers will earn 0.25% APY on funds in their Save accounts up to $10,000. In order to earn the advertised 1% APY, Aspiration Plus users will need to spend a whopping $1,000 a month on their debit card. By the way, this 1% also only applies to the first $10,000, balances over that only earning 0.1% APY regardless.

This is by far the worst APY structure that Aspiration has introduced and I can’t say enough about how much I dislike it.

Slow transfers

I’m not sure if I’m just impatient but it seems that external transfers to Aspiration take a bit longer than normal. Perhaps that’s because they don’t even display as pending in your account (you’ll have to hit the “transfers” tab to see it, assuming you initiated the transfer from Aspiration itself). This has led to a couple of times where I worried that something was wrong.

Of course this fear was only compounded when I got an e-mail from the bank saying one of the transfers I launched had failed. It turns out that was just a glitch that affected a few customers around the time of the big Save and Spend split, but it only made this speed issue more evident.

Less than stellar account statements

Once upon a time, when I was still able to trigger and ATM fee reimbursement, I wasn’t sure if the $4 ATM fee credits I was receiving were extra money or just leveling me out from a charge I didn’t see. Well part of the reason for the confusion is that Aspiration didn’t display all of the balance data that other banks would. Thankfully, this has since been corrected and a running tally now shows under your transaction both on mobile and on desktop.

At the same time, Aspiration’s account statements still leave something to be desired. To me, they’re oddly confusing and not really what I’m used to from banks. So while I’m thrilled that they finally fixed the balances issue, I hope statements also get a second look in the future.

Image for post
Image for post

Final Thoughts on Aspiration

There’s clearly a reason why Aspiration has been getting so much publicity in recent years. In addition to their unique business model and humanitarian/eco-centric efforts, they also offer a number of banking features that can help customers save money. At the same time, based on the numerous (and I do mean numerous) recent changes to their accounts, I can no longer whole-heartedly recommend them for your banking needs.

Although the promise of 1% APY and the ability to use any ATM in the world for free was what brought me to Aspiration, these main perks have now been reduced, eliminated, or attached to multiple strings. On top of that, while I’m glad their app and site now allow you to view running balance totals with transactions, there are still other aspects of their banking experience I find lacking — and for that they still request a monthly fee or demand one via the Aspiration Plus program.

To me, while Aspiration’s heart may be in the right place, the constant changes and increasingly-complicated rules make the offering seem suspect. For example, in just over one month, the offering completely changed its model twice. Personally I feel bad for those who took the time to set up direct deposits of $2,000 or more in order to earn interest on their money only to now be told they need to spend $1,000 a month instead. This is not a small change and really seems like poor form.

For those reasons, I’d say it’s only worth setting your sights on Aspiration if their overall message is enough for you to overlook these downsides. If not, I’d try SoFi Money or Discover Bank instead.

Per FTC guidelines, this website may be compensated by companies mentioned through advertising, affiliate programs or otherwise. (Note: advertising relationships do not have any influence on editorial content. Advertising compensation allows DyerNews to provide quality content for free. All editorial opinions are those of the individual author and/or Dyer News.)

Originally published at Dyer News.

Written by

Kyle is author of “The E-Ticket Life” and “Write, Print, Publish, Promote” as well as a regular contributor to Dyer News, Moneyat30, and The Laughing Place.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store